top of page

glauce in GARGNANO

Updated: Sep 14, 2019

Gargnano is a town in the province of Brescia, in Lombardy. It is situated on the western shore of Lake Garda.




With Toscolano Maderno as my home base, I took SIA Bus 202 with 5 stops around 7 minutes to Gargnano. The cost of the ticket is 1.30 Euros, which was purchased from a bar. No ticket machines. It reminded me of how I purchased my tickets in Zagreb from a newspaper stand and in Vienna from a Tabak (tobacconists). Otherwise, you may purchase from the driver but I think it will cost a bit more.



This is how the ticket looks like and should be validated at the yellow machine.


On our way to San Francesco Church, a tiny entrance caught our attention. It was an art exhibit, very colorful and inviting. There are business cards displayed at the entrance that says Marianna Collini in bold print. She must be the artist. We looked around and I completely adored how the beautiful they are!




The pathway led us to an entrance of San Francesco Church.



The church was erected in 1289 by Franciscan monks. The exterior is Romanesque in style, but interpreted according to the Franciscan approach, simple and unadorned. The interior of the church, which boasts paintings by Giovanni Andrea Bertanza and Andrea Celesti, was originally divided into a nave and two side aisles, which were later demolished to create a single nave, probably between the 17th and 18th Century. (1302), in Veronese red porphyry stone. The simple structure stands on four small columns, next to the left-hand part of an arcosolium tomb, with the Latin grave inscription: This is the monument of the lord Argilo of Gargnano and his heirs.



I enjoyed my stroll, entering small alleys, peeking through the vintage shops, looking up at those pretty windows, tourists like me here and there with eyes busy wandering about the place. Oh, it was a lovely weather too!




My stroll literally stopped at Lungolago Gargnano. Simply beautiful! I couldn't decide which direction to take, left or right? Both directions boasts the beauty of the lake - with mountain, the bell tower, plain, promenade,














8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page